Thursday, October 9, 2008

Awards Time

A number of past and present members of the Galaxy have been nominated for a series of different awards this week.

Landon Donovan was named as one of three finalists (Clint Dempsey and Tim Howard are the others) for the Honda Player of the Year Award, which is given to the player who is voted as having had the best year for the U.S. National Team, as chosen by the media. Donovan won the award in 2007, becoming the first player ever to win the award four times. He was also named the Honda Player of the Year in 2002, 2003 and 2004, while finishing second in 2005 to Kasey Keller.

Additionally, former Galaxy defenders Paul Caligiuri and Alexi Lalas were two of 32 players who were on the final ballot for the NCAA Men's Soccer 50th Anniversary Team.

Caligiuri was a two-time NSCAA All-American (1985 and 1986) and the 1986 Soccer America Player of the Year. He led UCLA to the 1985 NCAA title, the program's first-ever in soccer. He joined the Galaxy in 1997 and played five years with the club, appearing in over 100 games and winning the 2000 CONCACAF Champions Cup and the 2001 U.S. Open Cup.

Lalas, who played his college soccer at Rutgers, led the Scarlet Knights to the NCAA College Cup Final Four twice (1989 and 1990), including an appearance in the National Championship game in 1990, which ended in a loss to UCLA on penalties. After being named Third Team All-American in 1988 and 1989, Lalas was a First Team All-American in 1990, also winning the Hermann Trophy and Missouri Athletic Club Player of the Year award. He appeared in 59 games during his three years with the Galaxy, winning the 2001 U.S. Open Cup and the 2002 MLS Cup in Galaxy colors. He returned to the club in 2006 as the President and General Manager, a role that he held until August 2008.

Bruce Arena, the Galaxy's current Head Coach/General Manager was one of six coaches nominated as the coach of the 50th Anniversary Team. Arena won five National Championships, including four in a row from 1991-1994, during his time at the University of Virginia, winning nearly 300 games in his 18 years with the Cavaliers.

Former Galaxy coach Sigi Schmid was also nominated as the coach of the 50th Anniversary Team for his successful spell at UCLA. In 19 years in charge of the Bruins, Schmid became the all-time winningest coach in UCLA history, winning 322 games and three (1985, 1990 and 1997) National Championships.

Voting for the 50th Anniversary team begins today at and will run until 9 a.m. (PT) on Wednesday, Oct. 15. Individual fans will only be able to submit one vote. To vote, click here.

Lastly, media voting for the Galaxy's MVP and Defender of the Year have opened as well, with the winners to be unveiled prior to the regular season finale against FC Dallas on the 26th.

Who do you think should win these awards?


Anonymous said...

Landon and Sean Franklin hands down. Franklin for league Rookie of the Year too.

Anonymous said...

Donovan!!!!! You must be joking.

Anonymous said...

Vanney for worst player in MLS

Anonymous said...

Landon played a phenomenal game for the USMNT yesterday v Cuba. He was an excellent ball provider and passer yesterday. But, is he consistent? Can he play like on the highest football level (ie: Premier League and Bundesliga)? I believe Landon needs a reason, a motivation, and cause to play on a consistent level. Without it, many of his games are stagnant and drab. But, there's no reason the boy got speed, passing, and crossing down. But, I still don't believe he is a target fowrard/striker. His role is always best when he gets to orchestrate near the final third.