Monday, November 2, 2009

Awards Finalists Announced

MLS announced the finalists for all of their league awards this afternoon, with four members of the Galaxy making the shortlists for individual honors. Those four are...

  • Donovan Ricketts - Goalkeeper of the Year (Winner to be announced on November 4)
  • Bruce Arena - Coach of the Year (Winner to be announced on November 11)
  • Omar Gonzalez - Rookie of the Year (Winner to be announced on November 12)
  • Landon Donovan - Volkswagen Most Valuable Player (Winner to be announced on November 19)
This is the first year-end award nominations for both Gonzalez and Ricketts, who are each in their first year in MLS. Donovan was a finalist for the MLS MVP award last year, losing out to the Crew's Guillermo Barros Schelotto while Arena won the Coach of the Year award in 1997 and was a finalist a year later in 1998.

Additionally, Ricketts and Josh Saunders will each be nominated for the Save of the Year award after winning Save of the Week awards earlier this season, while Landon will be up for the Goal of the Year award after winning a Goal of the Week award earlier in the season. These awards will be decided via online voting at

To learn more about these awards and to see all of the awards finalists, head over to


Anonymous said...

Congrats to all the LA Galaxy finalists. I hope they all win. Im super happy for Donovan Ricketts.

charlesj27 said...

IMO, all of them deserving of MLS awards... but, especially GK Sir Don!!! He's awesome!